[Dividing Line Image]

The Grant

The Educational Research and Methods (ERM) Division of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) will award up to four (4) travel grants to travel to the 2012 ASEE Annual Conference as part of its Apprentice Faculty Grant (AFG) program. Each grant consists of reimbursement of receipted registration, travel, food, and accommodation expenses up to a maximum of $2,000. Grant recipients are expected to attend the full duration of the conference, including two ERM events, and are highly encouraged to attend at least one workshop.

What Are the Goals of the AFG Program?

Who is Eligible?

How Does One Apply?

What Does the Nomination Packet Include? (Max 6 pages total)

Note that page limits are strictly enforced and materials should be submitted in the order listed.

  1. Nomination Materials - up to two pages
  2. Statement of the nominee's career goals, including an explanation of why the nominee qualifies as "apprentice faculty," and a reflection statement by the nominee about how apprenticeship in the ERM division will help achieve his/her career goals (up to 2 pages)
  3. One additional letter of recommendation from someone familiar with the nominee's engineering education research activities and/or commitment to engineering education (up to 2 pages)

Note that page limits are strictly enforced and materials should be submitted in the order listed above.

How Are Nominations Evaluated?

Nominees are evaluated by a team of ERM reviewers on (a) potential for future contributions to engineering education research, (b) need for mentoring/apprenticeship and (c) possible future involvement with the ERM Division. Specifically reviewers will rate candidates on:

When Is the Deadline?


Schedule of Events

What Changes Have Been Made From Prior Years?

A summary of changes compared to past years for this pilot program are listed below:

  1. Change in eligibility: Eligibility has been broadened to include engineering education researchers any stage of their career that make a sufficient case for the need for mentoring and "apprentice" status. This is designed to be inclusive of the many pathways into engineering education research.
  2. Application packet: (1) Applicants can now self-nominate. The requirement of a teaching philosophy has been removed; instead, a statement of how the applicant qualifies as an "apprentice" is required. This statement is the nominee's opportunity to discuss what being an AFG would do for the nominee's career trajectory and how the nominee would leverage this formal introduction to the ERM community to make a stronger mark in engineering education. (2) The required number of letters of recommendation has been reduced to one.
  3. Evaluation criteria: To mirror the changes in the nominee eligibility and the application package, the reviewer criteria has changed to reflect evaluation of the need for mentoring on the part of the nominee and alignment of this award with the career trajectory of the nominee.

Successful Applications Will:

[Dividing Line Image]

2011 Apprentice Faculty Grants Winners

We are very pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 Apprentice Faculty Grant. They are: These awardees certainly have impressive credentials in terms of both their technical accomplishments and their educational goals and achievements. As usual, it was a very humbling experience for the committee to evaluate all the applicants.
  [Dividing Line Image]

Past Winners

Sharnnia Artis, The Ohio State University
Cheryl Cass, Clemson University
Adam Carberry, Arizona State University
Erin Crede, Virginia Tech
Geoffrey Herman, University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
Aidsa Santiago Roman, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Gillian Nicholls, The University of Alabama in Huntsville
Sarah Zappe, Pennsylvania State University
Marisa Orr, Clemson University
Julie Linsey, Texas A&M University
Devlin Montfort, Washington State University
Mica Green, University of Cambridge
Shawn Jordan, Purdue University
Micah Lande, Stanford University
Noemi Mendoza-Diaz, Purdue University
Lora Oehlberg, University of California at Berkeley
Jen Schoepke, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Matthew Verleger, Purdue University
Shanna Daly, Purdue University
Euridice Oware, Purdue University
Stephanie Rivale, University of Texas at Austin
Joachim Walther, University of Queensland
Shane Brown, Washington State University
Alice Pawley, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Christine Guy Schnittka, University of Virginia
Julie Martin Trenor, University of Houston
Ravel Ammerman, Colorado School of Mines
Monica Cardella, University of Washington
Daria Kotys-Schwartz, University of Colorado
Tamara Moore, Purdue University
Marcia Friesen, University of
Jenni Light, Washington State University
Ken Yasuhara, University of Washington
Stephen Zemke, University of Idaho
Taryn Melkus Bayles, University of Maryland Baltimore County
Kristine R. Csavina, Arizona State University
Tammy VanDeGrift, University of Washington
Jessica M. Herrera Yellin, University of Washington
John Brader, University of South Carolina
Lisa Bullard, North Carolina State University
John Feland, Stanford University
Sean St. Clair, Georgia Institute of Technology
Betsy Aller, Western Michigna University
Ann McKenna, Northwestern University
Mary Cummings, Virginia Tech University
Cynthia A. Finley, University of Texas at Austin
Donald Carpenter, University of Michigan
Chad Korach, Northwestern University
Robin Adams, University of Washington
Kathryn Hollar, Cornell University
Brian Kinsey, Northwestern University
Heather Nachtmann, University of Pittsburgh
Philip Parker, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Debbie Kaufman, North Carolina State University
Clark Merkel, North Dakota State University
Trevor Harding, University of Michigan
Diane Beaudoin
John Bell
Kenneth Kauffman
Sarah McComb
Ann Marie Flynn
Eric Mulkay
Jennifer Turns
William Oakes
[Dividing Line Image]

Contact Information

Nominees and nominators with questions are highly encouraged to contact the AFG Committee Chair, Julie Trenor at jtrenor@clemson.edu or 864-656-4321.